Messi wins historic Golden Ball as Mbappe claims Golden Boot


Lionel Messi has claimed a historic Golden Ball award after the conclusion of the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar on Sunday.

The Argentine Superstar who led his side to their first FIFA World Cup title since 1986 added an individual award to the team title.

Lionel Messi who scored two goals in the final to help Argentina beat France 4-2 on penalty following a 3-3 draw after 120 minutes was rewarded for his effort.

He could have also added the Golden Boot award for the most goal scored at the tournament but he lost the award to his clubmate Kylian Mbappe who scored three goals in the final game.

Both players headed into the final game locked on 5 goals each, Lionel Messi scored two to increase his tally to 7 while Kylian Mbappe scored 3 to increase his tally to 8.

For Lionel Messi it was his second Golden Ball award after winning in 2014, and now 2022. He is the first ever player to do so since the award was officially introduced in 1982.

Below is the list of all the individual award winner

1. Golden Ball (Best player of the tournament) – Lionel Messi

Silver Ball – Kylian Mbappe
Bronze Ball – Luka Modric
2. Golden Boot (Highest goal scorer) – Kylian Mbappe 8 goals

Silver Boot Lionel Messi 7 goals
Bronze Boot Olivier Giroud 4 goals
3. Golden Glove (Best goalkeeper) Emiliano Martínez

4. FIFA Young Player Award Enzo Fernández

5. FIFA Fair Play Trophy England


Source link