CHSAA announces Hall of Fame class of 2022


The Colorado High School Activities Association Hall of Fame has announced its Class for 2022 on Tuesday.

Seven new members will be inducted, including coaches Sally Moos (Cherry Creek), Tim Ottmann (Ponderosa), Rene Aafedt (Valley), George Rykovich (Manitou Springs) and James Hartman, Jr. (Mitchell), as well as student leadership adviser Dale Garland of Durango and Highlands Ranch basketball star Ann Strother Abromaitis.

Moos coached volleyball for 35 seasons at Creek and finished her career with 734 wins, 13 Centennial League titles and five state championships.

Ottmann led Ponderosa’s wrestling program for 18 years with a record of 147-19 (200-26 overall). Ottmann collected 16 consecutive Continental League titles and coached 10 5A state champions. He was also named NFHS National Wrestling Coach of the Year in 2009.

Aafedt coached girls volleyball at Valley for 20 years. She has a career record of 393-96 with her teams appearing in nine Class 3A state championship games, with state titles in 2010 and ’12.


Source link